Communicating Professionally

Competitive UO Senior Planner

(11) Manners Are Never Overrated November 8, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jen J. Ashley @ 8:55 pm

Kindness is an artistic medium without walls – Kathy Hepinstall. 

The older I get the more I realize, everyone likes to hear “Thank You” and “You’re Welcome.” Whatever you are interested in advertising, dance, business, beer brewing, anything, being a well-mannered person is never not appreciated.

Being a good person is more important than being good-looking, smart, successful, a good kisser or a tech geek. (Even though being a bad kisser could really damage your love life.) Think about it, if someone is talking about a player on their basketball team they say, “ yeah, he isn’t very good but he is really nice, he keeps the moral up.” It is the traditional line we have heard since middle school: the only thing we have full control of is our attitude. As cliché as it is, it’s the truth.

One thing my Dad (who by many measures of the word is extremely successful) has always said has stuck with me my entire life.

“No matter what your situation is, there is no excuse to be rude.”

There isn’t. Everyone has bad days and nobody deserves to have to deal with it yours. I try to use this thought when dealing with telemarketers. They are trying to earn a living and if they have to call me and read a script, so be it. At least they have a job and are not asking for handouts. Even though I do not want to talk about switching my car insurance, I don’t have to be mean.

I guess what I am trying to say is be nice. It will get you farther in life than you think.

 

Leave a Reply

