Communicating Professionally

Competitive UO Senior Planner

(4) Send Me to the Circus October 13, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jen J. Ashley @ 1:20 am

I will be the first to admit that I am a rational and traditional person. I am a white woman who grew up in a middle class family in small town Oregon. My decisions are usually made with deliberation and weighing multiple options. I went the sensible route with my life. I picked an exceptional university that wasn’t to far from home. I have a part-time job during school and work full time during the summer. My majors of Public Relations and Advertising are not completely sensible, but my minor in Business is. My point through all of this is I may not be your stereotypical ‘outside the box’ thinker, but I am different.

There is something wrong with the way the business world is set up nowadays. There is a fundamental problem of ingenuity . I think it could be because of the giant influx of students getting their MBA. Not that a Master’s of Business is a terrible degree. However, instead of us backpacking through Europe or playing bass in a rock band or hell, joining the circus after college we do the sensible thing. It is because of this that there is a giant gap between the creative industry and the business side.

90 percent of advertising flooding the airwaves and magazines today is crap. It is “buy buy BUY” or bashing their competitor. When all companies are doing is thinking about the bottom line and only asking ‘how much is this going to cost’ it is ruining our culture. To play devil’s advocate to myself, when all creatives do is focus on putting ads out there just to make people say ‘huh’ is not smart either. (I mean we are in an economic crisis.) If I had it my way every advertising agency would require their employees to take periodic business classes and there would be a mandatory one-month sabbatical for MBA students to join the circus.

This idea might seem a little strange but the problem is people don’t understand people anymore. Billing doesn’t fathom the reason Haagen-Dazs made an entire campaign about saving honeybees. Creatives do not understand why the company needs to focus on results, ROI’s and other scary words like that.  Would my idea solve the lack of innovation in this world? Probably not, but it would be a very good start.

 

Leave a Reply

