Communicating Professionally

Competitive UO Senior Planner

(3) You have to trust in something October 6, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jen J. Ashley @ 7:52 pm

After Steve Jobs tragic death, many of his quotes were being retweeted. Most, I had never heard before. One quote really hit me hard though. Why? I am not positive but it made me stop, think and even ponder after awhile.

“You have to trust in something — your gut, destiny, life, karma, whatever. This approach has never let me down…” – Steve Jobs

 It made me think, what do I trust in? When my world seems ominous and unrelenting what is it that never seizes to amaze me? Is there something that makes me feel better about my future? Yes, there is. I believe everything happens for a reason, even if I don’t see it.

Having the faith in the way the world works has given me the tenacity to keep trying. My junior year spring term I was applying for internships for the summer. I applied for about 10 internships and had about seven interviews. From that, I narrowed it down to three I really wanted. I decided out of those three, one I really, really wanted. I thought I had this internship. I had an excellent resume tailored to the position, my interviews were spot on and I had a great connection with my interviewer. Then I got the call. “Hey Jen, this is the hardest call I have to make but unfortunately I am giving the internship to someone else.” Umm… ok. I asked why I was not chosen. She said “Well, I am not sure. You did everything right I just gave it to someone else.” Great, so basically I was doing everything right but for some reason I wasn’t good enough.

To say I was disappointed was an understatement. I had my site set and I heard the glass crushing around me. After my pity-party ended I checked my email. I had another interview scheduled. Not only was this internship at a corporation, it paid better and it opened my eyes to a whole new industry, health care. I ended up having an amazing summer and created connections that will lead me to my first job.

If I didn’t have my faith that everything happens for a reason I would not have accepted my second or third choice. I would have stayed in my comfort zone of Eugene all summer and would not have grown as a young professional like I did. Steve Jobs quote about trusting in something greater than yourself should be heard by all. If you don’t, well that sounds like a depressing life.

 

Leave a Reply

