Communicating Professionally

Competitive UO Senior Planner

Electronics: Bringing Families Together or Apart? May 10, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jen J. Ashley @ 7:29 pm

On April 29, 2011 The New York Times posted an interesting article called “Quality Time, Redefined” Bascially the article describes a not-so-out-of-the-ordinary scenario of a family sitting in a living room together and all of them not communicating. All of them were staring at some sort of different screen. In my experience, getting all of my immediate family under one rough is difficult. After accomplishing that task how do you get everyone “unplugged”. Is electronics getting in the way of families?

Some say yes. If a family in a room are all concentrating on what is going on their particular screen, how can they interact? If a child is constantly waiting for a text message how can they actively participate in a conversation? If a little boy is enamored with is video game is he really listening? You can be in a room and not hear anything at all.

On the other hand, some argue that technology has brought families closer together. Speaking from my own personal experience, I would not talk to my family half as much as I do without social media and electronic devices. Most of my family lives on the east coast and without Facebook we would never speak! I now speak to them all monthly. Also if it was not for text messaging my mother and I would communicate about half as much as we do. Without Skype I would have had a difficult time with having a relationship with my boyfriend while he was in Germany. For me personally, electronics have brought me closer to my loved ones.

Should children be relying on technology this much? I personally do not believe so. Part of my love for school when I was younger was because I got to see all my friends. I went home, visited with my family and looked forward to the next day. Having the lack of electronics was important for socializing at school for me. I am torn on the issue that electronics are bad for all ages of family members but both size have reasonable arguments. I guess it is just up to each family to decide for themselves what is right and acceptable in the household.

 

Leave a Reply

